Changing an IP camera lens : Foscam FI8905w

Hello everyone,

A few days ago, I decided to change the lens of my Foscam ip camera. For the story, I bought the foscam FI8905 6 months ago to keep en eye on my garden. However I would like to have a wide-angle lens.  Indeed, my Foscam came with a lens of 6mm wich makes an angle of 44°. With a lens of 4mm  it will be 66°. You can see the difference in this picture :

You can have 2.1mm lens but if you put this size you will have a ring of light when the ir-light will be activated. So I choose to buy a 4 mm lens :

You can follow this video to know how to change your foscam FI8905 lens :

After changing my lens the result was amazing :

  • Before with the 6mm lens :

  • After with the 4mm lens :

You can see that I have a better angle (wide one) compared to the 6mm lens :

You have to notice one important thing :
You must choose a lens that has the same length (+/- 2.6 – 2.9 cm including the threads).
The lens can be a little bit shorter if you use a 6mm or higher lens, as long as the black round thingy still blocks the ir-light from shining on the lens.
If you use a 4mm or lower, the lens has to be as close to the glass as possible, so it is important that the lens isn’t shorter, otherwise the black surrounding “thingy” will be visible on your picture.

Posted on April 10, 2012, in Home page. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a comment